Accuracy classes

According to OIML R60

Load cells and scales are divided into accuracy classes to create a uniform standard. The accuracy classes of load cells are regulated in the OIML R60 and are structured according to the following table.

 Class A Class B Class C Class D

Lower limit 50,000 parts 5,000 parts 500 parts 100 parts

Unlimited upper limit 100,000 parts 10,000 parts 1,000 parts


Class C load cells are used most frequently in our area, industry, trade and agriculture, which can be broken down even further. A number from 1 to 6 is added to the letter, which gives information about the maximum number of division values. The classes result from this

• C1 with 1,000 division values

• C2 with 2,000 division values

• C3 with 3,000 division values

• C4 with 4,000 division values

• C5 with 5,000 division values

• C6 with 6,000 division values


While accuracy classes D to C1 are for use in the building materials industry for weighing sand and water, for example, load cells of class C3 are used for more precise applications. Most floor scales, pallet scales and platform scales have load cells of accuracy class C3.

Accuracy class C4 is common, but not as common. These are always used if class C3 does not meet the minimum requirements of the application, such as in some multi-range scales.

Accuracy class C6 load cells are currently the most accurate based on strain gauges. These high-precision load cells are used whenever the highest precision is required. Dosing systems, check weighers and sorting systems are just as much areas of application as picking systems and piece counting scales. Load cells of accuracy class C6 are also installed in floor scales and pallet scales if the task has to meet the highest demands for accuracy.



Mario Schmidtke

Zuletzt angesehen